*peeks around corner*
*blows off the cobwebs*

Perhaps I should stop intro-ing my posts like this, eh?  Maybe when I start updating more than once per month. :)

Anyway, I’m feeling a bit disappointed.  Not terribly sad, mind you.  More like when you find out there is no more Santa Claus.  You’re sad initially, but when you really think about it, you’re really not terribly surprised.  I’m feeling that way about St. Patrick’s Day.

St. Patrick’s Day, for the second time in my “adult” life, is on a Saturday.  Well, not true, really.  It was a Saturday in 2001.  However, I was only 19 in 2001 and therefore not legal to drink, so OF COURSE I certainly did not imbibe any alcoholic beverages that evening.  Nope, not me!

So, second time in my post-21 life.  It was a Monday in 2003, my first post-21 St. Paddy’s.  Wednesday in 2004 (leap year), Thursday in 2005, Friday in 2006, and Saturday in 2007.  I was 25 that year.  I was really stoked.  It was going to be epic.  And then we got 2 feet of snow on March 16th.  And my new boyfriend, who I just thought was the bees knees and I wanted to spend every moment with him that I could, ended up getting the flu.  Not so epic.  (As it turned out, I married him.  I still think he’s pretty nifty.)

And so the cycle continues.

So, this year, it was a Saturday, again.  However, unlike last year, we did not get a dumping of 2 feet of snow.  On the contrary, it was sunny and 65 degrees yesterday.  I haven’t really partook in St. Patrick’s Day since 2006 (the Friday year).  In 2008 we went to the parade (3/15), were actually a bit bored, and then that Monday we went for a few beers at the erstwhile Tess’ Lark Tavern, which was somewhat more crowded than usual for a Monday, but nonetheless pretty tame.  In 2010, on “Parade Day” (Saturday, 3/13), we skipped it entirely and went beer tasting in Vermont with friends.  You get the picture.  It’s been somewhat anticlimactic for me for some time.  I haven’t taken time off for it like I did when I was younger.  I haven’t even wanted to.  However, this year, because it was a Saturday, I felt like I should do something Cool.  I hadn’t really defined Cool in my head, and I wasn’t even sure what that meant, other than it meant imbibing alcohol in some capacity.

Except, Saturday rolled around, a couple of friends whom I would normally hang with on the day were out of town for one reason or another, and as I looked around the unfolding nonsense that is Parade Day in Albany (it was on 3/17, of course, as it was a Saturday this year), I just wasn’t into it.  I knew anywhere I might want to go was going to be packed with sweaty, blackout drunks.  I wasn’t going to be able to navigate to the bar.  When I did, I probably was going to be handed a plastic cup, which while I understand why the bars do this on days like that, I’m 30 years old and I don’t want to drink out of plastic, thankyouverymuch.

I wanted to be excited about St. Patrick’s Day, but I wasn’t.  This realization, in itself, was disappointing.

What I did do yesterday:
1.  Participated in FUSSYlittleBLOG’s Cupcake-Off (which I will let Daniel and All Over Albany write about before I publish my own thoughts on the cupcakes), which put me in a bit of a sugar coma that afternoon;
2.  Drove back to my neighborhood and dodged parade-goers who were parked illegally all over the place and hoped beyond hope I would be able to find a place to park within a mile of my apartment.  I finally did find something, in a “one hour only” parking area.  I figured, in an hour, at least some of the parade-goers would clear out and I would be able to find a spot.  I was correct.
3.  An hour later, Chris and I drove out to Thompson Lake State Park to take Finnegan swimming.  
4.  Drove back via Delaware Ave.  Got a closeup look of Lark/Madison.  Decided, at this point, that getting a beer, well, anywhere, was going to be obnoxious and futile.  
5.  Had an Indian buffet dinner at Aashiana.

I was in bed by 10pm.  This was, in part, due to a sugar crash from the cupcakes.  :)

On a day that wasn’t 3/17, I would deem that as a Really Good Day.  Because it WAS a really good day.  I had a lot of fun at the Cupcake-Off.  Finnegan had a blast at the lake, and Chris and I got to enjoy the beautiful weather that we’re having due to this lovely early spring.  We had a yummy dinner and I got to curl up and read my book later that evening.  But because it was 3/17, I feel disappointed.  

I suppose I’ll get over it.  I never thought there would come a day that I wasn’t excited about St. Paddy’s Day, and realizing that day came and went for me a long time ago is a bit of a blow.

