I feel insincere when I talk about being busy.  In truth, I’ve been busy since C and I got engaged (three years ago on Jan 2!), with some tasks better than others.

2007 was a magical year.  It seems silly to refer to a certain year as the best year of my life, but it was.  I was 25, I had a great job, I met Chris, and I had the world on a string.  I still had a lot of growing up to do, which I’ve done quite a bit over the last six years, but it was the first time I really felt like a grownup, and not just an imposter in grownup’s clothing.  And, it was every bit as grand as 5 year old me imagined it would be, while clomping around in Mom’s pumps and oversized suit jackets.

But, not every year can be 2007.  2012 was no 2007. 

Even still, as this year comes to a close, and I am ready to shut the door on it and welcome 2013 with open arms and the fresh slate that comes with it, there have been some very bright points to this year, which I would be remiss to completely omit. 

- I saw the Pacific Ocean for the first time

- C finished traveling, and with one State left to write he’s on track to finish writing by the end of this year

- I started a new job that I LOVE, and am surrounded by smart, spunky, supportive, and powerful women (which is a coincidence, by the way, but a happy one nonetheless)

- I ran my first 5K.  And then a second.

And, while there have been some big disappointments and sadness, the little moments have made this year special.  (There are more, it just seems that they’re not necessarily good for linking.  It’s merely a coincidence the ones that are were orchestrated by the Profussor.)

So, today, I’ll relax, drink some tea, and then share some holiday merriment with friends later.  2012 hasn’t been a banner year, but there are still some weeks left to make some small happiness.

