Explain to me why in the world a so-called Pennsylvania senator would spend “most” of his time in Leesburg, VA.

I am aware that he has to spend a lot of time in Washington, and Leesburg is less than an hour from DC, as opposed to the 4+ hours that Penn Hills is, but why would you spend most of the year save holidays in a state where you are not a senator? I would think he would want to, at the very least, split his time. From the sounds of it, Hillary spends more time in NY than he does in PA. And here I was, not six years ago, accusing her of being a carpetbagger who wouldn’t spend one more minute in NY than she had to.

“[Sen. Rick Santorum, R-PA] and his wife have been home-schooling their children in Leesburg, Va. — where he has said they spend “the vast majority” of their time — since questions were raised about their residency last fall.

“Santorum said last fall that he and his family typically return to Penn Hills during holidays and usually stay at the home of his wife’s parents, who live next door to the house he and his wife own on Stephens Lane.”

Also, why wouldn’t you stay in your own house? ESPECIALLY since it’s right next door anyway? I mean, you pay taxes on it, I’m sure you have to put some costs into maintaining it, even though clearly you’re never there; you’d think one would want to physically spend some time IN it, at least for part of the year, if not the majority.

To be fair, I’ve been biased against Santorum since reading his 2003 interview with the AP, and the thought of someone this small minded being in office sickens me. However, it’s really not much different than the small minded no-nothings from the 1950s and 60s who tried to suppress the Civil Rights Movement among this country’s African American population.

But this residency issue? This makes absolutely no sense to me whatsoever. Owning a home in a state (even if you’re never physically *in* it) may qualify you to run for Senate, but it does not qualify you to scam the local school district, which is what the Santorums are doing. And people wonder why public school funding is such a trainwreck in this country. I sincerely hope the school district refuses them residency for the 2005-06 school district, because this is absolutely ludicrous.

I could go on about the whole idea of an online charter school, but I’ll refrain from that, at least for the time being. I am not a proponent of online learning, however I know I’m in the minority as far as that’s concerned. I have a number of friends enrolled in online classes that can’t say enough good things about them; myself, I learn better in a physical classroom, and work better in groups where my peers are physically present. I certainly don’t think an online education is appropriate for elementary school children (or secondary school children, though that would perhaps be more acceptable), but then again I am not an educator, nor do I have children myself. And I do know that, at any age, all people learn differently.

I’ll have to do more research on that notion, because while I initially find it appalling, it is actually quite intriguing, especially for those parents who wish to home school their children for any reason.

Please, chime in and enlighten me if I am wrong on anything. I would love to not be so confused.

x-posted to The 5th Estate

EDIT: According to an article posted in the comments of this post , the kids were “pulled” from the “cyber school” last year, after the residency question first came up. This was just concerning the lawsuit the school board had against him for back-tuition paid.

