This morning, while at my favorite coffee joint, I noticed that not only was one of my favorite flavors (pumpkin spice) on special, the pot was clearly hot and fresh. You caffeineaholics will know what I mean. Fresh coffee just SOUNDS different coming out of the pot.

However, precious as that lifeblood is to me in the mornings, I am a klutz. So, while affixing my lid, a bunch of it spurted all over my hands. Fortunately, it missed my white capris, however getting on my bare skin didn’t exactly feel good, either.

The girl behind the counter cringed and asked if I was okay. I was, because I load my coffee up with cream and sugar. However, it did make me think of a post I read a couple days ago over at the DMI Blog. The Drum Major Institute, a progressive think tank based in New York City, does a lot of interesting research and a lot of wonderful work, they are sometimes a little *too* leftist for my tastes, and some of the stuff they come out with is eyeroll worthy.

Like, for example, the blog post about the McDonalds hot coffee lawsuit. What Mr. Dugger probably does not realize is that most of the people *do* know the “reality” of the tale of woe, and still find it to be frivolous. The coffee didn’t spill because it was too hot, or because the lid wasn’t affixed properly. The coffee spilt because the woman tried to open the lid while the car was moving, and fumbled as a result. Seeing as an arguably with-it 24-year-old has issues affixing a lid when she’s standing perfectly still, an elderly woman might have trouble with it in a moving vehicle.

Common sense, people. Yet, these frivolous lawsuits are essentially that: The People vs. Common Sense. Who needs it when you can just sue?

Of course, I feel horrible that this woman got burned so badly. No one should have to suffer through that. Though, the burns make sense – older skin is usually more sensitive than younger skin, and therefore is more susceptible to bruising, plus she burned the insides of her thighs, where the skin is far more sensitive than, say, your hands.

I do know this: If *I* was buying coffee at McDonalds that day and it wasn’t hot enough to sting my skin, I probably would have sent back for another cup. Lukewarm coffee is nobody’s friend.

Wait – we drink coffee hot? I suppose that, too, falls under common sense. Living life involves some level of risk, and by stepping outside the house each morning we waive our rights to not have the world inflict whatever it may upon us. Sometimes, no one is to blame. However, in the meantime, consumers have to deal with annoying labels on our peanut butter jars that say, “WARNING: Contains nuts,” or increased prices due to the latest frivolous lawsuit.

Can’t we save the civil suits for the people who really need the laws to protect them, and just start using common sense?

