It seems that students across the United States are really pissed off about the news feed feature on Facebook.

Essentially, what this feature does is chronicles what changes all of your Facebook friends make to their profiles and displays them on a news feed on your homepage. It displays all of the changes you have made on your own Facebook page.

The students are in an uproar. This, they say, is far too intrusive.

However, what I don’t seem to understand is – IT’S ALL PUBLIC, ANYWAY. Or, at least, very available to anyone you friend on Facebook. They’d have to work a little harder to find it, sure, but it’s still easy to access. So, what? Are you simply counting on your friends to be lazy?

The answer is simple – if you don’t want random Internet people to know whether or not you left a comment for Susie or broke up with Jimmy, how about you not post it all over the Internet?

I find the whole uproar ridiculous. About the only comment against the news feed feature that made any sense at all was made by my good friend M. She said, “Many of the expert stalkers I know are now at a loss, because this feed business puts amateurs on the same level. Now everyone can know who I’ve poked/graffiti-ed/gotten engaged to … not just those who WORK for it.”

Exactly. MySpace and Facebook made “stalking” easy before. Now, Facebook makes stalking idiot-proof. And everyone else oblivious to the fact that it was so easy to get this information before are all freaking out that their privacy has been violated. My dears, if anything, you should be thanking Mark Zuckerberg for bringing to your attention something that should already have been glaringly obvious: You violated your own privacy when you signed up for these accounts.

I learned the hard way a long time ago that what I post on my blog people actually DO read, and as a result I need to be careful about what I say and how public I make it. When I made Facebook and MySpace accounts, I posted generic things I wouldn’t mind my grandmother seeing – or, more importantly, an employer. Yes, folks, employers DO search for this stuff.

So, essentially, if you can find it on my Facebook – feed or no feed – it’s because I don’t mind you knowing. If I didn’t want you to know about it, you wouldn’t find it there, and if it’s not on your Facebook, it’s not in the news feed. Use some common sense and don’t blame a website feature for your own poor judgment.

