I know, I know – long time, no post. And for this, I apologize.

Not, of course, for lack of material. As you all have seen, the past month has yielded much in the way of local, state, and national buzz, especially politically. However, seeing as I am far overdue for commenting on the elections, I’ll refrain from doing so.

Rather, I’ll comment about my least favorite, overly-hyped up holiday: Thanksgiving.

People complain about the commercialization of Christmas, or “Hallmark” holidays such as Valentine’s Day and Mother’s Day, but I think the true spirit of gluttony and misrepresentation of the POINT of a holiday is displayed at Thanksgiving, not Christmas. It’s supposed to be a holiday for reflecting on the year and being thankful for what we are lucky to have even if there has been a hard run of it of late. Instead, we just eat. A LOT. And, quite frankly, it’s kind of disgusting.

Not that I am innocent of partaking, mind you. In my family, we get a 30 lb turkey, make enough food to feed a small army, and fight over whether to watch football or Christmas movies. For the record, my uncle and I trade on traditional gender roles in this, as I am the only woman on the side of football while he is the only man on the side of Christmas movies. There’s always some sort of bickering going on over something petty, and then we sit down to eat and feel ill for three days afterwards. Last year, my mother and I watched CSI after getting home. Though at the time I thought it was a cruel joke, I now look back on it and find it horribly amusing – the episode CSI aired was about a man who literally ate himself to death. Ugh.

It was George Burns who said “Happiness is having a loving, close knit family … in another city.” While I love my family and I would do anything for them, I dread Thanksgiving for the exact sentiment that quote implies. My family lives about an hour away, and I have to work on Friday, so I’ll be home for the day only. I’ll do the obligatory family show, I’ll eat some turkey, and I’ll contribute the green bean casserole, as I always do. However, the whole time I’ll be reminding myself that, as always, Christmas will be better. The holiday often leaves me exhausted, frustrated, and disappointed. I figure, at least if I lower my expectations, the blow of the latter won’t be so harsh.

And, don’t EVEN get me started on Black Friday … there are a myriad of reasons I choose to go into work the day after Thanksgiving, and that mess is one of them.

