I apologize. I know that I promised, upon graduation, that I would be posting more frequently, and suffice it to say I have not – this can be attributed to nothing more than my own laziness, for lack of a better word. I’ve found that with my newfound “freedom” (as in, *only* working 40 hours a week), I’ve actually been able to find plenty of ways to fill my free time.

I did not Blog for Choice on Monday, something I had intended to do. Though, after reading my good friend on Academia as an Extreme Sport, I’m kind of glad I did not. I do not feel quite as strongly as she does on the subject, however she brings up some excellent points about how the politics of this issue have left the middle ground feeling alienated. When the issue is so grey and confusing, it’s easy to skew the poll numbers one way or another.

However, instead of writing about these poignant issues, I’ve been occupying my time with frivolous things such as going to the gym, enjoying my Netflix account, reading, and playing with my cat. This, of course, was in addition to prepping for an oral exam which could lead to, for all intents and purposes, a promotion at work. I went last week, and I find out next month if I passed. Please, keep your fingers crossed for me.

I also forgot that words can inflame, and I inadvertently did so with my last post. Okay – so perhaps I wasn’t not trying to be inflammatory, but I suppose I did not expect to be called on it. How easy it is to forget – when you have not done it in a while – that when you write something, you should expect people to read it.

I am not going to address the State of the Union, because as a rule, I do not watch when the President speaks. It often does nothing more than make me angry and have me calling my mother, ranting about the state of the country. I’m sure upon reading news reports this morning, I’ll have a good summary of what was said.

In sum, as you can see, I’ve had quite a bit on my mind. There are one or two other things I’d like to add, but perhaps those will be separate posts. This week. Because I need to deliver on a promise to my readers.

