I gotta say, I’m pretty flipping stoked about this. It’s got a lot of proposals I’ve been saying need implementation (or at least, trace beginnings of said proposals) for quite some time now. It’s not perfect,I know, and it’s got some pie-in-the-sky ideals, and some things that some entrenched interests will probably hate, but it is a step in the right direction. It’s proposals like these that illustrate the points I made in my last post – I’m excited for the future of New York.

I thought I had more articulate things to say on the matter, and I’m sure I do, but I’ll save it for *after* Wednesday’s budget address. My cat is currently parked on my lap, purring up a storm, and head-butting my hands as I’m trying to type. I think he’s trying to tell me something, no?

In the meantime, here’s some food for thought: Eliot has until February 1 to submit his budget, but he’s submitting it on January 31. Why? Because February 1 is a Thursday, not a session day, and the legislators don’t want to come in on their day off. Nice.

