For those of you who don’t know me personally, I live in the Washington Park/Center Square neighborhood in Downtown Albany. I absolutely love everything about where I live, though I’ll admit that the parking situation is less than ideal. However, I have found that if I need to move my car to the other side of the street (or from the park), the best time to do it is around 7am. You see, the first wave of State workers go to work between 7am and 7:30am*, and since many of the State offices are NOT right downtown, then residents can’t walk, but drive, freeing up spaces for me. Also, you have the late night Lark Street-ers who leave long after I’ve gone to bed.

So, this morning was one of those mornings I had to move my car at 7am. Not too big of a deal, as I’m usually up and showered by then, anyway, as I have to be to work at 8am. I noticed, however, that at 6:55am, in addition to the slightly warmer air (let’s face it – after yesterday’s frigid temperatures, 10 degrees is downright balmy), it was light outside. I mean, the sun wasn’t completely up yet, but it was daylight.

It’s funny – you don’t realize it gets dark earlier/stays dark until later until sometime after the clocks go back, usually around mid-November. All of a sudden, it hits you like a ton of bricks. I notice it more in the mornings than in the evenings, myself. However, it’s somewhat the same when it begins to get lighter. One day, you wake up, and it’s not still dark outside. Usually, on the first day that I notice this, I am in a very good mood. The long nights in the winter are depressing, and when sunlight starts to peek through, I know the cold weather will dissipate soon and spring (and then summer!) will soon be here.

So, it makes me think – maybe, just maybe, the groundhog got it right this year. 🙂

*Some of you may have heard the jokes about the State workers that book out of their offices by 3pm or 3:30pm. Of course, what these jokes neglect to mention is that those State workers are at their offices by 7am, so it’s no different than someone who works 9am to 5pm. Many of the State offices allow their workers to work whatever hours they choose, so long as they put in the 37.5 hours a week (accounting for the 1/2 hour lunch, of course). It’s really no different than the hours one puts in at most private sector offices, except that it’s flexible – something which builds workforce morale, and that other companies could learn from.

