Ted Kennedy having done one really really awful thing in his life (and, yes, it was really, really awful – both what he did and how he handled it afterward), does not negate all of the good things he’s done since.

Perhaps this is the idealist in me, but I would like to think that his penchant for doing good was part of his atonement for what he did in 1969. Maybe I’m wrong, but the way he dedicated his life to service in the best way he knew how – he did not have to do that. He could have been a silver spoon playboy, hiding in the shadows, not putting himself out there time and again to still be crucified for his actions 40 years ago. But, he felt the need to make a difference in this country.

I could be all wrong, but then again I like to see the best in people.

May he rest in peace.

