Initially, I was going to create a new blog entirely.  But, sadly for me, msnotmrs.wordpress.com was already taken (and locked down, so I don’t feel too guilty stealing the tagline), and I really wanted to stay on wordpress.  I also decided, I really didn’t want to give up on my trusty online persona, “irisira”, that has been with me for a very long time.  So, rather than start completely fresh, I figure this can evolve.  The posts on here previously are relevant.

In the coming weeks, I’m actually going to post regularly (no, really, I mean it) on new topics, as well as recycling what is relevant and interesting from my old home at Blogger.

As for the new title?

Mrs. is often incorrectly used.  The only proper way to use the term is Mrs. Hisfirstname Hislastname, or just Mrs. Hislastname.   For example, from Wikipedia:

“Mrs.” was most often used by women when married, in conjunction with her husband’s first and last names, e.g., “Mrs. John Smith”. A widow was and still is addressed with the same title as when she was married. “Mrs.” was rarely used before a woman’s first name, maiden name, or before a hyphenated surname her husband was not using. For example, “Mrs. Jane Miller” (wife of John Smith), “Mrs. Jane Smith” or “Mrs. Jane Miller-Smith” were considered incorrect by many etiquette writers, especially of the early 20th century.

So.

I hyphenated my name, still prefer my maiden name socially, and do NOT prefer to lose my first name in the process.

So, therefore, even though I’m a married woman, I’m also a bit of a grammar nazi.  And I’m not a Mrs.

