Archive for October 8th, 2010

Friday evening blogging

C is finishing up some writing, and I’m busy catching up on my blogroll.  I finally have my Google Reader all set up with my favorite blogs, and when I get ambitious I’ll link to some of them here as well.  This was coupled with some mindless Facebooking and Twittering, as I wait for C to finish up so we can go do “something.”  (What, you ask?  Nothing fancy.  Possibly nothing at all.  But, still, not like I’m going to chew his ear off or try to seduce him or bug him about dinner while he’s trying to work.)

Anyway, it got me to thinking.  Most of my regular blogs don’t post on the weekends.  And, of course, that is when I am more likely to post, and certainly more likely to read and comment.  My boss does not take too kindly to blog-reading on the clock when there is work to be done, nor should she  (and, in the whole “doing less with less but not really, we actually expect more” climate most of us are dealing with, there is quite a lot of work to be done).  Anyhow, I noticed, that most of these posts are active and brimming when I’m not reading them.

It makes me wonder, am I doing my blog-readers a favor by posting at odd hours, so you have something to read when no one else is posting anything new?  Or should I have wordpress time my updates for more “strategic” times of day?  I suppose this isn’t something I should necessarily worry about.  If people like my blog, they’ll read it when they have time to read it, and comment as such.  Similar to what I do with other blogs.

Even still, it would be kind of fun to have new reading material on a Saturday morning.  Obviously not for the bloggers who blog for their jobs and work a normal-ish work week.  But, maybe, for the rest of you.  I’m reading on Saturdays!  And I’ll bet I’m not the only one.

With that, C is done working, and we can start our 3-day weekend.  Enjoy, all!  I’ll see you … well, I won’t lie.  I’ll probably see you tomorrow morning.  🙂

Trendsetting for a Good Cause

I swear, I SWEAR, that this blog is not going to be about food.  Seriously, I promise.

However, food is a common interest of mine and my husband’s, and therefore plays a big role in our lives.  C is a foodie, and while I wasn’t a full-fledged foodie before I met C, I definitely had foodie tendencies that have since been cultivated.  I still don’t like to cook.  However, now that I’m a foodie, I like cooking even less … because I’m fussier about how my food tastes, and my cooking doesn’t measure to my own standards!  (Well, there are certain dishes I do well … but overall, no, I don’t like my own cooking!)

One of the best decisions that C and I made this year* was joining a CSA.  Specifically, we joined Jus-Lin Farms, and added on an egg share as well.  We split it with another couple, as a full share is too much for us, and to buy a half-share on our own was expensive in comparison.  The crop yields weren’t as large as we hoped during the summer months due to the drought, but overall we’ve been VERY happy with our investment.  Friends who know me “in real life” (or, at least, via Facebook) have gotten a live feed as to how much we love it – C cooks something yummy (often with my assistance and ALWAYS with my encouragement!), and I take a picture of it and post it to Facebook, outlining the CSA vegetables plus any add-ons from our favorite local markets (most commonly, the Honest Weight Food Co-Op or Cardona’s Market).

The result?  Many of our local friends have been asking me to send them information about how to join a CSA next year.

There’s been a lot in the media lately about the evils of social networking sites, however as much good can be done as damage.  I’m from a generation that believes technology can truly be an asset to your life.  I don’t think it should be used for no good (i.e., cyberbullying), and I certainly don’t think it should be a substitute for face-to-face contact, but it can be a valuable extension of one’s social life.

It also makes it a lot easier to be a trendsetter.  In fact, C and I learned about the CSA from another friend who posted about it on HER social networking outlets.  We took it to a different level.  We didn’t plan to do this, per se, but once we realized the attention we were bringing to practices we believe in – that is, eating all-natural and supporting local businesses – I post photos every time we make dinner.  Now, our friends are educating themselves on CSAs and considering joining themselves, which is exciting.  Posting photos was so EASY and FUN, and as a result, something really cool can go viral.

It, of course, means that hatred and bigotry can more easily go viral, as we’ve seen so recently with Tyler Clementi.  However, rather than condemning social media, fight back by using social media for a cause you believe in.

Like eating. 🙂

*That is, besides getting married, of course! 🙂