So, remember how I promised a photo of Friday’s outfit?  I think forgetting to get a photo on Fridays is becoming a theme. Chris and I had a wonderful dinner for my friend Bruce’s birthday last evening, and the wine (for me), bourbon (for Chris) and conversation went late into the evening (not too much alcohol, of course – we were driving).

Anyway, I was wearing:

Grey sweater jacket with black piping: Banana Republic

Dusty pink ruffle sweater: NY&Co.

Jeans: PacSun

I love the grey sweater jacket – it’s a sweater-like material so it is has a comfortable, casual look, but it is structured so it can easily be dressed up for work.  Because it’s a sweater-like material, though, it is also machine washable.  I like machine washable.  🙂

Anyway, this post isn’t about clothes.  This post is about Oliver, the chocolate colored Great Dane mix.  He looks like a giant love, doesn’t he?  Poor fella.

I’m not sure how I missed the story about Oliver last week.  C mentioned it to me last night on our way to dinner, and I sought it out this morning.  I volunteered at the Mohawk and Hudson River Humane Society for about a year, and am so glad that he is in good hands and doing better. (I’m “on hiatus” currently, trying to get my schedule under control, but I have every intention of going back once I do – they do great work.  Part of my SEFA donation goes to them.)

As you can see from the story, Oliver’s owner, in a fit of rage, taped his mouth shut with duct tape (so he couldn’t cry out or defend himself) and beat and cut him up.  The Schenectady police responded to a tip and arrested the owner and rescued the dog, bringing him to Mohawk-Hudson.  It seems he’s still skittish around new people, but his nature is clearly a loving one, as you can see from how he’s sitting with the reporter, eagerly (but gently) taking treats from her.

Many of you reading have met Finnegan in real life, and know how skittish and unsure he is of new people.  He takes a long time to warm up to someone, and I can count the number of people he trusts to even touch him on two hands.  We’ve had Finnegan for over a year and a half, and got him at four months old.  He was definitely traumatically abandoned, and he may or may not have been abused (he had no scars, so I don’t think there was significant physical abuse, but he was clearly neglected).  The fact that, only a week after traumatic abuse Oliver is further along than Finnegan ever will be is telling, and encouraging.

There’s no doubt that Oliver, with all of this press, will find a good home with someone once he is healed.  However, there are so many dogs in shelters that have terribly sad stories of mistreatment and abandonment.  Fortunately, not all of them are as awful as Oliver’s story, but so many dogs stay for months in shelters with no one to take them home.  Being the giant mush I am, a part of me wants to rescue as many as possible, though I know that’s simply not realistic.

Dogs are truly amazing creatures.  I can’t imagine life without one.  They’re a big commitment, and they’re a lot of work, so they’re NOT for everyone.  But if a dog is for you?  Please consider adopting a shelter dog.  A lot of them have behavioral issues that are untenable for a lot of people (we, for example, really needed a dog that would be good with other animals, because of Roscoe, my mother’s dog, and my in-laws’ dogs), but just as many of them (more, probably) are like Oliver – they have a very sad story but will make a loyal and loving addition to your home.

Finnegan, playing his favorite summer game: swimming to fetch the tennis ball

