It’s been a whirlwind couple of weeks.  In addition to our niece’s high school graduation, our nephew, 12, who lives in Florida was spending a few weeks of his summer vacation with my mother-in-law, and we don’t get to see nearly as much of him as we would like.  So, Chris being an aspiring writer and therefore works from home, he decided to spend the week at his parents’ house and spend time with his nephew.  We went down for our niece’s graduation, then I headed back to Albany for the week for work, and then I headed back down for the holiday and the graduation party.

In the midst of all of this traveling and confusion, I left my phone at my mother-in-law’s house.  She’s mailing it back to me, however I can’t say I’ve missed it all that much.

Now, granted, it is not like I haven’t had access to a phone at all.  Obviously, I have one at work, and I also have access to Chris’ phone, if I need it.  There have been some minor inconveniences to not having the phone, but nothing earth-shattering.

I don’t think I would want to be permanently phoneless, and I would be decidedly anxious if I did not have access to a phone at all, but it’s made for an illuminating week.  Perhaps I’m too reliant on that stupid device.  Perhaps I would be well-served to leave it off more often.  For example, there’s been a personal issue that I’ve been working through for many months, which involves a very long story that I simply don’t want to retell.  The other day, in part inspired by a blog post I had read recently, coupled with time healing the wounds, when I brought the issue to mind, I felt okay with it and at peace, for the first time.  I don’t think I necessarily would have even brought it to mind that morning, as I walked through the park to work, if I had my phone to stick my nose in and play with my twitter feed.

Technology allows us to pontificate ad nauseum through numerous means, but I wonder if it really allows us to reflect and work through things.

Anyway, my phone should be in the mail in the next couple of days.  I hope, though, I’ve learned something from this exercise.

